Country and Year Representation Established	Present Status of Representative	Address
United Arab Republic1954 United Republic of		454 Laurier Ave. East, Ottawa
Tanzania	High Commissioner	230 Gloucester St., Ottawa
United States of America1927 Upper Volta1966	Ambassador	100 Wellington St., Ottawa c/o Embassy of the Republic of Upper Volta, 5500-16th St. N.W., Washington, D.C. 20011, U.S.A.
Uruguay 1948   Venezuela 1953   Yugoslavia 1942	Chargé d'Affaires ad interim Ambassador	124 Springfield Rd., Ottawa 140 Wellington St., Ottawa 17 Blackburn Ave., Ottawa

## 2.—Representation of Other Countries in Canada—concluded

## Section 3.—International Activities, 1966-67

## Subsection 1.—Canada and Commonwealth Relations

The Commonwealth today has been transformed basically from the compact and likeminded family of nations of predominantly European stock which constituted the Commonwealth association from the enactment of the Statute of Westminster to 1947. With its present membership of 26 sovereign states covering about one quarter of the earth's land surface, representing more than 750,000,000 people of many colours, creeds and languages, and including both economically developed and under-developed countries as well as governments committed and uncommitted in the international power groupings, the Commonwealth more accurately reflects the world over which it spreads so widely. The interests of its members extend to all continents and the variety of problems demanding their attention has greatly increased in scarcely more than a decade.

Commonwealth members are enumerated according to the year (if post-1931, noted in brackets) when membership was proclaimed: Britain; Canada; Australia; New Zealand; India (1947); Pakistan (1947); Ceylon (1948); Ghana (1957); Malaya (1957); Nigeria (1960); Cyprus (1961); Sierra Leone (1961); Tanganyika (1961); Jamaica (1962); Trinidad and Tobago (1962); Uganda (1962); Kenya (1963); Malawi (1964); Malta (1964); Zambia (1964); The Gambia (1965); Singapore (1965); Guyana (1966); Botswana (1966); Lesotho (1966); and Barbados (1966). Early in 1964, Tanganyika joined Zanzibar to form the United Republic of Tanzania. When Singapore, Sarawak and Sabah joined the Federation in September 1963, Malaya became Malaysia; Singapore separated from Malaysia in August 1965.

A development of 1966 was the negotiation by six Commonwealth Caribbean territories—Antigua, Dominica, Grenada, St. Kitts-Nevis-Anguilla, St. Lucia and St. Vincent—of a new constitutional status in association with Britain. Under the West Indies Act, 1967, each of the West Indies (Associated States) acquired full control over its internal affairs with the right to amend its constitution, including the right to end the association and declare itself independent. Britain continues to be responsible for the defence and external relations of the Associated States but has delegated executive authority regarding certain aspects of their external relations to the respective governments.

The Commonwealth Secretariat, established by a 1965 decision of Prime Ministers, has its headquarters at Marlborough House, London. Its first Secretary-General is Mr. Arnold Smith, a Canadian. The Secretariat has the responsibility of organizing and servicing official Commonwealth conferences; it facilitates the exchange of information between member countries and generally stands at the service of all Commonwealth governments as a visible symbol of the spirit of co-operation which animates the Commonwealth. The Secretariat of the former Commonwealth Economic Committee and the Commonwealth Education Liaison Unit, both based in London, were integrated with the Secretariat at the end of 1966.